Posted by: jbaner | August 29, 2016

My recent artwork

Today I’m going to share with you what I’ve been up to in the last few months. I haven’t had the time or motivation to make any large quilts, but some small art quilts are my passion anyway. I may have shared some of these in the past, but thought I’d share again. I recently enter a couple of them in the NW WA fair and came home with two blue ribbons.

The first one here a challenge quilt I made for our guild’s tea we have with a sister guild in Canada. The challenge was “hats”. So I used the “hat trick” pattern for the background and did it using 3 different red fabrics very close in value and shade. Then I appliqued the hat with a model’s face under it on top of the background. I almost didn’t because I really liked the quilting that I did on the “hat trick” pattern. That may motivate me to make a larger quilt like that. This is about 24″x 24″.

Hat Trick Full

Hat Trick

The next one I made as an exercise for lesson in a class I’m taking. It was to create linear vs organic lines with the fabric….not the quilting lines as we normally do. This was a lot of fun to make. Again, I may make something similar in a larger scale. It is 18″ x 12″. It has been juried into the LaConner Quilt and Textiles Museum Quiltfest in October.

IMG_2776 (1)

A-Peeling Oranges

The next piece is a commissioned art quilt similar to my Serenity quilt I did last year. The first is “Serenity”. The second is “Sunset Meditation”.

serenity full

Serenity

Sunset Meditation

Sunset Meditation

And last but not least I’ll share with you two of my colored pencil drawings I’ve done in the last few months. The first is “Stanley” which I entered in the NW WA fair and received a blue ribbon and “Best of Lot”. The lot was the pencil category in the senior division!! Still hard to believe I’m a senior, but so be it! The second is of my other cat “Sunny” which I just finished this weekend.

Stanley CP drawing

“Stanley”

Sunny

“Sunny”

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed my little show. I’ve had fun creating all these pieces of art. There will be more to come!

~Jo

Responses

  1. Beautiful art Jo! Multi-talented!

    • Thank you Wanda….I take it you saw that I reblogged your post I thought it was really good and I had not seen the reblogging option before, but thought I’d take advantage of it. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

